How it works:
Your clinician will send you a text message with a link to load the video consultation, that looks something like this:
These icons will be found at the bottom of the screen and allow you to control your camera/microphone.
Click on this icon when you’re done to end the call.
What you need to do:
- once you receive the message, click on the link
- It will then open your internet browser (e.g. Safari, Chrome).
- It may show you a screen where you need to click “Request permissions” to enable your camera and your microphone or it may ask you to perform a test.
- You should then be able to see yourself.
- Wait for the GP/nurse to join the consultation.
What do I need for it to work?
- A smartphone, either with working Wifi/3G/4G connection
- Your Internet Browser needs to have your phone’s microphone and camera enabled (you can see how to alter this in your phone settings here). You might also need to make sure you are using a supported browser.
- iPhones running older software that has not been updated (iOS 12 and earlier) will need to download the Whereby app to join the consultation.
What if I don’t have a smartphone or the video doesn’t work on my phone?
You can also access the link on a computer. Just type it into the top of the internet browser like so: